Like Mama, Like Daughter

Excuse me. Attention, please. Could everyone listen up? Please stop whatever you are doing and redirect your focus here because I have a very important announcement to make:

I have the best mom in the entire world. And today is her birthday.

In honor of my amazing Mama, I would like to dedicate this post to her. Mama, you are incredible, and I could not be more thankful that you were born.

Yes, I realize that I have a vested interest in my mother’s birth because, obviously, if she hadn’t been born, I wouldn’t be here. But all that biological necessity aside, I am genuinely thankful that my Mama is here.

To all of you who do not have the pleasure of knowing my mother, I guess I should tell you about her. As I’ve already noted, she is absolutely amazing. And as you can probably tell from the picture, she has brown hair and brown eyes (I get mine from her). But these demographic details don’t do my mother justice. So let’s dig a little deeper.

First of all, my Mama is a really great mom. Yes, she’s done more than her fair share of cooking and cleaning and sock-matching, but her motherly skills don’t stop there. She takes every opportunity to go above and beyond the call of duty. Take, for instance, her public service announcements. When you watch a movie with her, expect to hear comments such as (A Cinderella Story) “If you’re ever in an earthquake, don’t stand under the doorway” or (in response to the booby traps in Home Alone 3) “They’d be dead right now,“ and my personal favorite (from the opening scene in A Walk to Remember),”If you ever jump off a platform into shallow water in the middle of the night, I will kill you.”

But her concerned commentary isn’t limited to movie watching. It permeates every aspect of daily life. From my mother, I learned such useful lessons as, “Say ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ and blow your nose in a Kleenex” and “Never walk under the hanging TVs in Wal-Mart; they might fall on you” and, of course, the cardinal rule of everything: “If Mama’s hungry, ain’t nobody happy.”

While these comments are humorous, my mom can also be serious…. About chickens and snowmen. At Christmas, Frosty and his friends camp out in our downstairs bathroom. It boggles my mind how many snowmen she fits into that small space. Every time I come home on a break, our decorative chicken population has multiplied exponentially. In fact, I can expect a tour of our newest chicken additions, along with how much she paid for them at the garage sales.

Speaking of garage sales, my mom is an expert “saler” (The rest of us have only achieved “junior saler” status). On an average weekend, she can find anywhere between 10 and 15 items for less than $3… total. And I’m not talking about cheap, junky things; I mean nice, quality things. An almost brand-new ice cream maker for 50 cents. The Lord of the Rings deluxe edition DVD set for $1. And, of course, lots and lots of chickens.

My mom may be a little quirky at times (as she often reminds me, “Everyone is normal until you get to know them”), but I couldn’t love her more for it. My Mama is incredible, and I don’t know what I would do without her. Over the years, she’s been my diaper changer, softball coach and catcher, chauffeur, hug giver, stage mom, sounding board, advice-source, role model, friend… and so much more. As I’ve already said, she’s the best Mama a girl could ask for, and I am immeasurably blessed to call her mine.

Mama, I wish I could be there to give you a huge hug and wish you happy birthday in person, but since I can’t, I guess this blog will have to do. Thank you for loving me unconditionally, for listening to me without judging me, for sharing your wisdom with me, for serving everyone unselfishly and—most of all—for showing me what it means to follow Jesus. I love you dearly, and I am so thankful for you. I hope your day has been so very special and I hope that one day I’m half as wonderful as you…

Like mother Mama, like daughter. 😉

3 thoughts on “Like Mama, Like Daughter

  1. What a wonderful tribute to your Mom. Know this means more to her than any gift you could have given her. You are a special young woman. Love you, Omi

  2. steffi-
    well said, well said.
    you are your mother’s daughter.
    in fact, you ARE a chip off the old block.* ;D
    paba
    * not that your mama is an “old block,” mind you!

Leave a Reply

