Mid-Summer Musings

Image

Hello, WordPress world!

First, I’d like apologize for not blogging recently. Since May 20th, I’ve been working at Kanakuk Kamps and have had only intermittent access to my computer. (No computer = no blog). I’m currently on the tail end of a 24 (i.e., 24 hours off), and I felt compelled to write. Unlike my usual planned-out blogs, I have no idea what I’m going to write about. But hey, we all need a little spontaneity now and then, right?

Kamp has been incredible so far. Exhausting, exhilarating, exciting, and extremely different from my other four summers on staff. Rather than being a counselor or a Unit Coordinator (aka a counselor to counselors), I’m on the Leadership team, working behind the scenes—and sometimes around the clock—to make Kamp run smoothly. I carry a walkie-talkie, do all kinds of odd jobs (like tweeting and blogging. Follow me @kanakukkseven and http://kseven.kanakuk.com/  #shamelessplug) and fill in wherever needed. But I don’t think the change in title has caused the difference I’ve noticed. The reason goes far deeper… all the way to my heart.

You see, I’m a different person this summer. Why? Because God transformed me, or in slang terms “rocked my world” this past year. And that’s what I’d like to share with you today. Having said that, this entry is going to be more candid than usual, but I hope the message will make the shift in writing style worthwhile.

If you’ve paid attention to my blog at all this last year, you know that I attended the Kanakuk Institute. This wasn’t my first intention; in fact, I really didn’t want to go. But our Plan B is often God’s Plan A, so I ended up in Branson for eight months. During my “island adventure,” I knew I was growing and changing, but I had no idea just how much until this summer when I returned to Kamp. As bookends on the year at the Institute, my summers at Kamp provided the perfect window into all God has done in my heart and life. And now for some specifics…

I no longer compare myself to other people or worry about what they think of me; rather, I’m content with who I am in Christ.

I don’t get down on myself about mistakes I’ve made, but I learn from them and move on, trusting that God will use them for His purpose.

I’m not worried about the future, but I’m thankful for every moment that I’ve been given. I trust that the Lord will take care of the rest.

I’m genuinely joyful. Even when I’m having a rough day or just need to cry, I have a deep-seated and happy trust in my Savior.

And most of all, I have found real victory and freedom—in Jesus.

Why am I sharing this with you? Simple: I want you to experience this too. Growing wasn’t an easy process, and this year wasn’t always pleasant. But now, standing on the other side and looking back at it, I wouldn’t have traded it for anything. Never have I been more at peace. Never have I felt more alive. And I desperately want that for everyone, including you. True life is found only in Christ. He’s the answer to all your problems, the solution to all your needs. But more than that, He’s the God of your heart, the Creator of your being, the Lover of your soul. Nothing else will satisfy you; nothing else can make you whole. I don’t know where you are in your “spiritual journey” or if you’ve even started. I have no idea what you believe. But I do know this: your Maker is the only one who can make you complete.

With that, I’m turning off this laptop and heading back into the woods. I’ll try to write again soon (next time, I will be funnier; I promise), but until then, please think about these words. Goodbye, friends!

Leave a Reply

